Home > Suffolk Coastal Christmas bin collections

Suffolk Coastal Christmas bin collections

Posted by Suffolk Coastal District Council on 1 December 2017 | Comments

Tags: , ,

Christmas bin hangers are being given to all households in Suffolk Coastal, giving residents details on changes to bin collections during Christmas and New Year, together with a calendar on bin collection dates for 2018.

During the week commencing Monday 25 December, collections will mainly be made one day later than normal, except for collections on Monday 25 December, which will be made two days earlier on Saturday 23 December.

Residents are reminded to ensure their appropriate bin is out for collection by 6am:

Normal day of collection:Collections will now be made on:

Monday 25 December

Tuesday 26 December 

Wednesday 27 December

Thursday 28 December 

Friday 29 December 

Monday 1 January

Tuesday 2 January

Wednesday 3 January

Thursday 4 January

Friday 5 January

Saturday 23 December

Wednesday 27 December

Thursday 28 December

Friday 29 December

Saturday 30 December

Tuesday 2 January

Wednesday 3 January

Thursday 4 January

Friday 5 January

Saturday 6 January

All recycling and refuse collections will return to normal from Monday 8 January 2018.

Cllr Carol Poulter, cabinet member with responsibility for the Green Environment, said:

“During the busy festive period we’re asking residents to make sure the correct bins are out on the changed collection days.

“At this time of year we generate so much extra waste so we’re reminding people to avoid unnecessary waste, consider waste-free or low-waste options when doing the Christmas shopping, and minimise the amount that goes to the energy-from-waste plant by recycling and composting as much of what can’t be avoided as possible.

“Wrapping paper and greeting cards are some of the biggest offenders that can easily be recycled in your blue-lidded bin and leftover food both cooked and raw can be placed in the brown bin.”

The bin hangers include a calendar inside which sets out which bins are collected each week during 2018 and a reminder of what can and can’t be put into your recycling bin, so please keep the bin hanger for continued reference.

Not sure what you can place in your recycling bins

If you have a natural Christmas tree this year, any branches less than 1 ½ inches (4cm) in diameter can be recycled afterwards by cutting it up and placing it in the brown bin, ensuring that the lid of the bin can be fully closed.

Why not try making your own Christmas decorations  by reusing wrapping paper and cards?

For lots of top tips for reducing your waste this Christmas see the Suffolk Recycling website.