Sizewell C Joint Local Authority Group

Terms of Reference

1. Purpose of the Group

To discuss common approaches between Suffolk Coastal District Council and Suffolk County Council to the Sizewell C New Nuclear development which include:

- a) Identifying and understanding the aspirations of the local communities and developing a common approach to proposals made by EDF Energy for a new nuclear power station in order to: mitigate disruption caused by construction and operation; provide opportunities for the local workforce & business; and to deliver maximum community benefit
- Engaging with town and parish councils to understand their issues and concerns and develop agreed priorities for mitigation and community benefit
- c) Developing the most effective approach to engagement with EDF and central government at the political level, in concert with officers evaluating the technical issues

2. Invitees to meetings

- a) Up to six councillors from each of the two councils, being members of the respective Cabinets or from the area around Sizewell, or as decided by the Leaders of the respective councils.
- b) Observers
 - Peter Aldous MP
 - Dr Therese Coffey MP
 - Dr Daniel Poulter MP
- c) The Chairman may choose to invite guests for particular meetings or meeting items where it would contribute to the purpose of the Group.

3. Protocols

- a) Meetings will not be open to the public, issues will be discussed in confidence and no minutes will be taken. However meeting notes and action points will be published on the Sizewell C web page hosted at <u>www.suffolkcoastal.gov.uk</u>.
- b) The Group is not a decision making body, and decisions must be taken by the respective authorities through their established processes.
- c) Meeting frequency: on an ad hoc basis; it meets as required and preferably on a Friday to enable MPs to attend.
- d) Meeting venue: Usually SCDC;
- e) Each council will identify a Lead Member who between them will occupy the posts of Chair and Vice Chair. For the civic year 2016/17 the Chair will sit with SCC. For the civic years 2017/2018 and 2018/2019 the Chair will sit with SCDC.
- f) The Lead members will be responsible for reporting back to their respective local authorities.