Joint Local Authority Group

Friday 16 February 2.30pm

Deben Conference Room, East Suffolk House

INVITEES: Cllr Geoff Holdcroft (Chairman), Cllr Richard Smith (Vice-Chairman), Cllr Tony Fryatt, Cllr Ray Herring, Cllr Andy Smith, Cllr Tony Cooper, Cllr Ian Pratt, Cllr Alexander Nicoll, *Cllr Andrew Reid*, Cllr Graham Newman, Cllr Russ Rainger, *Dr Dan Poulter MP*, Therese Coffey MP, Peter Aldous MP. *Cllr Jane Storey*.

Officers: Lisa Chandler (Sizewell C Planning Project Advisor SCDC), Nicole Rickard (Head of Communities SCDC), Nick Khan (Strategic Director SCDC), Paul Wood (Head of Economic Development SCDC), Philip Ridley (Head of Planning & Coastal Management SCDC), Sharon Bleese (Coastal Manager South SCDC), Stephen Baker (Chief Executive SCDC), Aidan Dunn (Director Resource Management SCC) Bryn Griffiths (Senior Responsible Owner SCC), Michael Moll (SCC Sizewell C Programme Director) Adam Barnes (Communications SCC), Ali Moseley (Resilience Manager SCC), Andy Osman (Emergency Planning), Dave Watson (Highways Authority SCC), Jai Raithatha (Economic Development SCC), John Pitchford (Head of Planning SCC), Judith Mobbs (Assistant Director Skills SCC), Paul Warmington (Skills SCC), Steve Merry (Highways Authority SCC), Michael Gray (Skills SCC).

SCDC staff work jointly for Suffolk Coastal District Council and Waveney District Council.

APOLOGIES: Cllr Andrew Reid, Judith Mobbs, Nick Khan, Dr Dan Poulter MP, Adam Barnes, Dave Watson, Jai Raithatha, Paul Warmington, Ali Moseley, Cllr Jane Storey

1	Welcome and Introductions	15:00
2	Notes of last meeting 17 November 2017	15:05
3	EDF Energy Update from Officers	15:10
	Philip Ridley	
4	SCC Visit to Somerset – see confidential paper attached	15:40
	Richard Smith	
5	Hinkley Point C Visit – see draft agenda	16:00
	Lisa Chandler	
6	National Policy Statement – Energy – paper attached	16:10
	Lisa Chandler/Michael Moll	
7	NNLAG Update	16:25
	Philip Ridley/Lisa Chandler	
8	Economic Development Briefing	16:35
	Paul Wood	
9	AOB – including note on T-Levels (Michael Gray)	16.45
	Next meeting: 16 March 2pm	

- 1. Cllr Geoff Holdcroft opened the meeting and welcomed those around the table. It was confirmed that Cllr Jane Storey will be the Cabinet Member for Highways and will attend JLAG when appropriate in the future.
- 2. Notes from JLAG on the 17 November 2017 were agreed for uploading to the Sizewell C pages of the website.
- Philip Ridley gave a comprehensive presentation EDF Energy's current position with reference to Simone Rossi's recent speech in January 2018. Reference was made to other energy projects in the Sizewell / Leiston area including offshore windfarm proposals and inter-continental connectors.
- 4. Cllr Richard Smith supported by Michael Moll presented their lessons learnt from a recent day visit to Somerset County Council to discuss the HPC project.
- 5. The draft agenda for the HPC visit was discussed, further correspondence regarding security for site visits etc. will be required in the next month for attendees to complete.
- 6. There was a brief discussion of the proposed response to the NPS. Reference to discussion with other new nuclear local authorities and the aim for a cohesive response was included.
- 7. The NNLAG officer meeting in January included site updates and discussion of an infrastructure letter to Chris Grayling MP and Greg Clark MP to be sent imminently. The NNLAG conference will be in March 2018 and members of JLAG have been invited to attend.
- 8. A summary of the economic legacy potential of the SZC project and the potential negative economic impacts was present by Paul Wood with reference to necessary mitigation made. The Economic Principles on the JLAG web pages were referred to. Paul Wood highlighted the need for our own evidence base to inform our Stage 3 response to EDF Energy. The proposal is to tender for the work imminently and we are looking to complete the piece of work in August 2018.
- AOB Michael Gray briefly presented and discussed the briefing not on T-Levels that had been prepared and circulated to JLAG members.
 Therese Coffey MP gave her apologies in advance of the 16 March 2018 meeting.