Home > News > Congratulations to award winners

Congratulations to award winners

Posted by Waveney District Council on 12 October 2017 | Comments

Tags: , ,

Congratulations to all the winners at this year’s Stars of Lowestoft and Waveney Awards! The awards ceremony took place at Ivy House Country Hotel on Tuesday 10 October, presented by BBC Suffolk's Mark Murphy.

2017 winners:

  • Overall winner – Courtney Parker (pictured)
  • Charity Worker of the Year – Courtney Parker
  • Uniform Services of the Year – Lowestoft RNLI
  • Outstanding Sporting Achievement of the Year – Jordan Catchpole
  • Community Champion of the Year - Rob Fawcett for Lowestoft parkrun
  • Special Recognition: Curtis, Elaine and Gary High
  • Veteran of the Year – Leo Whisstock
  • Education Star of the Year – Ben Driver, Ormiston Denes Academy
  • Unsung Hero of the Year – Sally Turner
  • Team of the Year – Albert Pye School Panathlon Team
  • Outstanding Bravery Award – presented to the family of Sarah Wright
  • Young Person of the Year – Jakk Jackson
  • Judges Special Award – Megan the dog

Waveney District Council’s Deputy Leader and awards founder Cllr Stephen Ardley said:

“The awards are a real opportunity to recognise our local unsung heroes and celebrate the selflessness, hard work and courage within our communities.

As always, the standard of entries was extremely high and all those nominated should be extremely proud of their achievements.”

Organised by Parker Communications, this year’s awards were sponsored by cottages.com, East of England Co-op Funeral Services, Hoseasons, The Hotel Victoria, Ivy House Country Hotel, Kingsley Healthcare Group, MotorLings Cars, Pleasurewood Hills, Potters Resort, Sentinel Leisure Trust, Waveney Norse and Waveney District Council.