Home > Planning > Design and conservation > Conservation areas > Waveney Conservation areas

Waveney Conservation areas

Value your historic windows

Article 4 directions

Conservation area appraisals

Conservation areas were introduced in 1967 as a way of managing change within the historic environment, requiring consent from the local planning authority to carry out certain works. They are an essential tool in the preservation of our built heritage and there are currently sixteen conservation areas in the Waveney district.

A conservation area is an area of special architectural or historic interest that it is desirable to preserve or enhance, as defined in the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) Act 1990. Once an area has been designated by the local planning authority, this introduces certain controls and restrictions on development, and some alterations to properties.

How do I know I live in a conservation area?

There are currently 16 Conservation Areas in Waveney: 

 Beccles**  Bungay**
 Ellingham / Mettingham*  Halesworth
 Holton  Homersfield
 Lowestoft (North)  Lowestoft (South)
 Oulton Broad**  Somerleyton**
 Southwold  Southwold Harbour
 Walberswick Quay  Wangford
 Wissett  Wrentham

* Managed by the Broads Authority
** Some addresses managed by the Broads Authority