Home > Planning > Design and conservation > Quality of Place awards

Quality of Place awards

2018 Quality of Place award winners

2017 Quality of Place award winners

2016 Quality of Place award winners

2015 Quality of Place award winners

2013 Quality of Place award winners

2012 Quality of Place award winners

2011 Quality of Place award winners

2010 Quality of Place award winners

Nomination Guidance

Nominations are now open for the 2019 Quality of Place Awards, the nomination period will close on 31st July 2019.


The Quality of Place Awards were introduced in Suffolk Coastal District Council 2010 to recognise and encourage an interest in the quality of the built and natural environment of our district and to promote an awareness of the need for high standards in all forms of design, including planning, architecture, sustainable development and landscaping and community involvement. From 2019, with the formation of the new East Suffolk Council, the Quality of Place Awards are being extended across the whole East Suffolk District Council Area (currently Suffolk Coastal District Council and Waveney District Council).


To qualify for an award, the project must:

  • be within the Suffolk Coastal District Council or Waveney District Council area
  • have been completed within the last two years for Design, Building Conservation and Community categories
  • have been completed within the last five years for the Nature and landscape category
  • have all necessary planning permission/listed building consent/building regulations approval etc

All schemes are judged on the following criteria:

  • Quality of design and detailing
  • Quality of workmanship
  • Quality of materials
  • Sustainability



This category is for new buildings or extensions. The judges will consider the originality of the design, the overall architectural effect and the buildings relationship to its context.

Building Conservation

This category is for projects involving buildings of local or historic interest undertaken with particular attention to the quality of conservation. These projects should help to preserve and enhance the character of the historic buildings and their settings. The judges will consider the inventiveness of the approach and whether the project has provided a new lease of life for a previously redundant or neglected building.

Nature and Landscape

This category is for nature or landscape projects which contribute to local distinctiveness and benefit the local environment, wildlife or habitat. These projects can be undertaken with or without other building works/development. The judges will consider the benefit to the local environment and on site interpretation or educational information.


This award is for any built or natural environment project that has been designed to benefit the community in which it was built. The judges will be looking at community engagement with the project and the public benefits of the scheme.

How to nominate a scheme

Entry is free and is made by completing a Quality of Place Awards nomination form.

Information required

The following information will be required to accompany the completed nomination form:

  • Project description – up to two sides of A4 giving a clear concise statement about the quality of your nomination
  • Details of the architect/designer, building/landscaping contractor and other key professionals involved in the project
  • Photographs – up to six. First impressions count and so it is important that you sell your scheme to the judges by submitting clear photographs, showing the project
  • Evidence that the building or site owner consents to the nomination (signature on the nomination form or a separate letter)
  • Sufficient drawings to explain the project

The completed form needs to be submitted (with all the relevant supporting information) by email at conservation@eastsuffolk.gov.uk or by post to:

Design and Conservation Team
Suffolk Coastal District Council
East Suffolk House
Station Road
IP12 1RT


After the closing date the nominations will be assessed in two stages:

Stage 1 - A panel of judges, comprising a representative from the council, a local amenity society, an historic buildings expert, a natural environment expert and a local architect, will meet to consider the schemes and compile a shortlist.

Stage 2 - Shortlisted candidates will be contacted to arrange a site visit by the panel of judges.


After the site visits the judges will determine the winner of each category. The winners will be invited to the award presentation ceremony at the East Suffolk House and presented with a commemorative, bronze plaque and certificate. 

This is an informal evening event with the winners, judges, ward councillors, council officers and interested members of the public. The Chairman of the Council will present the awards. The results of the awards are published on our website as well as in the local press.