Home > Planning > Design and conservation > Suffolk Coastal Quality of Place awards

Suffolk Coastal Quality of Place awards

2018 Quality of Place award winners

2017 Quality of Place award winners

2016 Quality of Place award winners

2015 Quality of Place award winners

2013 Quality of Place award winners

2012 Quality of Place award winners

2011 Quality of Place award winners

2010 Quality of Place award winners

Nomination Guidance

The 2018 Quality of Place Awards has now closed for entries.


The awards were introduced in 2010 to recognise and encourage an interest in the quality of the built and natural environment of our district and to promote an awareness of the need for high standards in all forms of design, including planning, architecture, sustainable development and landscaping and community involvement. The length of time from completion for eligible schemes is two years apart from the Nature and Landscape category which is five years due to the time it takes such work to become established. 


To qualify for an award, the project must:

  • be within the Suffolk Coastal District Council area
  • have been completed between 1 January, 2016 and 1 January 2018 for Building conservation and Design categories
  • have been completed between 1 January, 2013 and 1 January 2018 for the Nature and landscape category
  • have all necessary planning permission/listed building consent/building regulations approval etc

Please note that council employees and councillors cannot apply.

All nominations are judged on the following criteria:

  • Quality of design and detailing
  • Quality of workmanship
  • Materials
  • Sustainability

Quality of Place Awards are made in each of the following categories:

Building Conservation (BC)

This award is for any works to buildings of local or historic interest undertaken with particular attention to the quality of conservation. Projects which help to preserve and enhance the character of such buildings and their settings should be entered into this category. In addition, the criteria for judging this award will also include:

  • Inventiveness
  • Providing a new lease of life for a previously redundant/neglected building

Design (D)

This award is for any new buildings or extensions. In addition, the criteria for judging this award will also include:

  • Originality
  • Overall architectural effect
  • Relationship to context

Nature and Landscape (N&L)

This award is for nature or landscape projects, which contribute to local distinctiveness and benefit the local environment, wildlife or habitat, undertaken with or without other building works/development.

In addition, the criteria for judging this award will also include:

  • Benefit to the local environment
  • Interpretation information/education facilities

How to nominate a scheme

Entry is free and is made by completing a Quality of Place Awards nomination form.

Information required

The following information will be required to accompany the completed nomination form:

  • Project description – up to two sides of A4 giving a clear concise statement about the quality of your nomination
  • Details of the architect/designer, building/landscaping contractor and other key professionals involved in the project
  • Photographs – up to six. First impressions count and so it is important that you sell your scheme to the judges by submitting clear photographs, showing the project
  • Evidence that the building or site owner consents to the nomination (signature on the nomination form or a separate letter)
  • Sufficient drawings to explain the project

The completed form needs to be submitted (with all the relevant supporting information) to our Design and Conservation Team


After the closing date the nominations will be assessed in two stages:

Stage 1 - A panel of judges, comprising a representative from the council, a local amenity society, an historic buildings expert, a natural environment expert and a local architect, will meet to consider the schemes and compile a shortlist.

Stage 2 - Shortlisted candidates will be contacted to arrange a site visit by the panel of judges.


After the site visits the judges will determine the winner of each category. The winners will be invited to the award presentation ceremony in the at the council offices and presented with a commemorative, bronze plaque and certificate. 

This is an informal evening event with the winners, judges and ward councilors of the winning entries and council officers. The Chairman of the Council will present the awards while a slideshow of the winning entries runs.

A short acceptance speech would be very welcome. You will then have your photograph taken with your award followed by light refreshments. The results of the awards are published on our website as well as in the local press.