Home > News archive 2019 > Photo competition winners announced

Photo competition winners announced

Posted by on 16 December 2019 | Comments

Tags: , ,

The winners of this year’s East Suffolk Photo Competition have been announced.

Returning for its third year, the competition ran throughout November and invited amateur and professional photographers to submit their photos of the district to East Suffolk Council.

In early December, the entries were judged by Cllr Stephen Burroughes, cabinet member for Customer Services and Operational Partnerships and Cllr Letitia Smith, cabinet member for Communities, Leisure and Tourism. 

In a joint statement, Cllrs Burroughes and Smith said:

“We received almost 200 entries this year and the outstanding quality of the photos made choosing the winners a difficult task. All the entries showcased the beauty and variety of East Suffolk however we felt the winning photos captured something extra special.

We would like to thank everyone who took part and we look forward to running the competition again in future.”

The winners are: 

  • First place: Mike Whitby, Woodbridge
  • Second place: Tony Pick, Thorpeness
  • Third place: Richard Sagom, Oulton Broad

 Highly commended: 

  • Chris Lee, Homersfield
  • Claire Grasby, Oulton Broad
  • James Allen, Carlton Marshes
  • Kevin Jay, Felixstowe
  • Rhianna Wren, Beccles

Each winner and highly commended entrant will receive a shopping voucher.

See the winning photos.