Item 12 Appendix A

WAVENEY DISTRICT COUNCIL

Updated Appointments to Committees for 2018/19

CABINET

(Up to a maximum of 10 Members)

The Leader of the Council appoints the Cabinet, including the Deputy Leader.

The Leader of the Council is automatically appointed as Chairman of the Cabinet.

Quorum (3)

Political balance NOT required.

LIST OF CABINET MEMBERS:

M Bee - Leader, including Merger & Communities

C Rivett - Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Customer Services

G Catchpole - Cabinet Member for Operational Partnerships

M Ladd - Cabinet Member for Tourism & Economic Development

C Punt - Cabinet Member for Housing
B Provan - Cabinet Member for Resources

D Ritchie - Cabinet Member for Planning & Coastal Management
M Rudd - Cabinet Member for Community Health & Safety

Assistant Cabinet Members:

P Ashdown – Planning & Coastal Management

N Brooks - Housing

J Ceresa – Tourism & Economic Development

	Conservative	Labour	Independent Group	Unaffiliated Independent	Green	Liberal Democrat
AUDIT & GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE	5	3	1			
(9 Members) Quorum (3) Political proportionately rules apply. Members of this Committee cannot be Members of the Cabinet, Group	Simon Woods (Chairman) Mike Barnard (Vice- Chairman) Edward Back	Tess Gandy Alan Green Keith Patience	Stephen Ardley			
Leaders nor the Overview & Scrutiny Committee Chairman.	Linda Coulam Letitia Smith					
OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (13 Members) Quorum (4)	7 Alison Cackett (Chairman)	3 Tess Gandy Louise Gooch Jane Murray	1 Nick Webb (Vice Chairman)		1 Caroline Topping	1 David Beavan
Political proportionately rules apply. No Cabinet Member can sit on the Overview & Scrutiny Committee.	Jenny Ceresa Linda Coulam June Ford Keith Robinson Kevin Springall Melanie Vigo Di Galladoro					

	Conservative	Labour	Independent Group	Unaffiliated Independent	Green	Liberal Democrat
PLANNING COMMITTEE (13 Members)	6	4	1	1	1	
Quorum (4) Political proportionately rules apply One nomination for the position of Vice Chairman has been received – Cllr N Brooks. Are there any more nominations?	Paul Ashdown (Chairman) Norman Brooks June Ford Tony Goldson Michael Ladd Craig Rivett	Malcolm Cherry Ian Graham Malcolm Pitchers Jedda Smith	Rob Neil	Paul Light	Graham Elliott	
LICENSING COMMITTEE (15 Members)	8	4	3			
Quorum (4)	Norman Brooks (Chairman)	Malcolm Cherry Yvonne Cherry Janet Craig	Kath Grant (Vice Chairman)			
Political proportionality rules apply	Paul Ashdown Edward Back Graham Catchpole Linda Coulam Tony Goldson Trish Mortimer Kevin Springall	Alan Green	Stephen Ardley Sarah Webb			

	Conservative	Labour	Independent Group	Unaffiliated Independent	Green	Liberal Democrat
JOINT APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE	2	1				
(Comprised of 6 members – 3	Mark Bee	Peter Byatt				
Members from Waveney District	Leader of the	Leader of the				
Council and 3 Members from Suffolk Coastal District Council)	Council	Labour Group				
Political proportionately rules apply.	Cabinet Member of Service Area					
Membership: Leader of the Council (Substitute: Deputy Leader in his/her absence)						
Cabinet Member for the Service Area (Substitute: Any other Cabinet Member in their absence)						
Labour Group Leader (Substitute Member – Labour Deputy Leader)						
The Leader/Deputy leader of the Council who will be the employing authority will chair the Joint Appointments Committee Meeting.						

RECOMMENDATIONS:

- 1. That the Council notes the recent changes to the Council's Political Balance.
- 2. That the proposed changes to the Membership of the Committees, as contained within Appendix A which was tabled at the meeting, be agreed for the remainder of the 2018/19 municipal year.
- 3. That the vacancy of Vice Chairman of the Planning Committee be filled for the remainder of the 2018/19 municipal year.
- 4. That the Labour Group vacancy on the Local Plan Working Group, as created by the disqualification of Councillor Reynolds, be filled for the remainder of the 2018/19 municipal year.
- 5. That the Planning Committee Member vacancy on the Local Plan Working Group, as created by the loss of Councillor Groom, be filled for the remainder of the 2018/19 municipal year.
- 6. That any Members who are newly appointed to the Regulatory Committees (Planning and Licensing) must attend the essential training, prior to taking up their seat on the Committee.